The VIB board of directors consists of representatives of universities, industry and the Flemish government. 

The board of directors:

  • heads the association and represents it extrajudicially
  • has full authority over all management actions
  • delegates the association’s daily management to the general management
  • determines the general management’s authorities and inspects their activities
  • has around five annual meetings, during which decisions are made regarding the institute’s management and strategy
  • drafted a Good Governance Charter and guards its implementation;
  • has 13 members: six Flemish university delegates, four business representatives and two representatives of the Flemish government.

From left to right, seated: Johan Cardoen, Jo Bury, Chris Van Geet, Gerard Govers,​ Griet Nuytinck, Hugo Thienpont, Leen Limbourg, 

From left to right, standing: Bart De Moor, Luc Moens, Dieter Deforce, Staf Van Reet,​ Ajit Shetty, Jan Steyaert, Cédric Verschooten, Rik Audenaert, Ronny Blust, Anne De Paepe, ​

Not in the picture: Eric Sleeckx, Koen Quaghebeur


  • Luc Moens (vice-chairman board of directors),  Ghent University
  • Chris Van Geet, KU Leuven
  • Gerard Govers, KU Leuven
  • Anne De Paepe, Ghent University
  • Ronny Blust, University of Antwerp
  • Hugo Thienpont, Vrije Universiteit Brussel 


  • Ajit S. Shetty, chairman board of directors
  • Staf Van Reet, Viziphar Biosciences
  • Griet Nuytinck​, Anacura
  • André Roef, Bayer CropScience 
  • Leen Limbourg, Atoms & Art
  • Koen Quaghebeur Globachem

Flemish government:

  • Dieter Deforce, senior lecturer UGent
  • Bart De Moor, professor, KU Leuven - ESAT-SCD 

The meetings of the board of directors are also attended by:

  • Two government representatives* (Philippe Nys and Stijn Rocher), appointed by the Flemish government,
  • The general management of VIB: Jo Bury and Jérôme Van Biervliet
  • A representative of the scientific management of the VIB research centers: Jan Steyaert (VUB)
  • The secretary of the board of directors: Rik Audenaert (CFO)
  • The operational director of VIB: Wim Goemaere (COO)

* The two government representatives, appointed by the Flemish government, attend the board meetings with an advisory vote only. The government representative ‘finance’ (Stijn Rocher) is responsible for the financial control of the activities of the association and the government representative ‘innovation & science’ (Philippe Nys) supervises the objectives of the association.