Meet the faces behind the science

The aim and vision of the Vascular Development Lab is not only to be a highly productive team of excellent scientists, but also a group of friends who enjoy spending time together in a friendly and supportive environment. This is only possible thanks to the commitment and motivation of past and present team members.



  • Dr. Wouter Smet: now post-doc in the Beeckman lab (PSB-VIB/Ghent University) 
  • Dr. Brecht Wybouw: now post-doc in the Mähönen lab (University of Helsinki) 

MSc and BSc students

  • 2019: Celien Van de Velde (MSc); Esen Tatar (BSc); Milan De Clercq (BSc)
  • 2018: Alexandra Peña (MSc); Jasper Cosyns (BSc); Chiel Lejaeghere (BSc)
  • 2017: Max Minne (MSc); Laura Van Wesemael (BSc)
  • 2016: Helena Arents (MSc); Jo Gysens (BSc); Kevin Verstaen (BSc)
  • 2015: Jens De Ceukeleire (BSc); Minh Bui Manh (BSc)